University of Crete, UoC (GR)

The University of Crete (UoC) is a multi-disciplinary, research-oriented public educational institution. Located on campuses in Heraklion and Rethymnon on the island of Crete, a site rich in ancient and modern Mediterranean cultures, the University offers a vibrant social and intellectual environment for research and education. Established in 1973, the University accepted its first students in 1977-78. It now has 17 Departments in 5 Schools (Philosophy, Education, Social Sciences, Sciences & Engineering, and Medicine) as well as a number of affiliated institutions, including the Skinakas Observatory, the Natural History Museum, and the University General Hospital.

Research and research training activities at the University of Crete are organized similar to the Divisions within each Department. Research activity follows the classic academic model insofar as it is driven by the initiatives of scholars and scientists in
developing their own curiosity-driven or practice-based projects, or working together with other research groups.

These collaborations mirror the increasingly multi-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary character of both basic and applied research, which is also reflected in the interdisciplinary character of many of the University’s postgraduate studies programmes. Consistent with its research orientation, the University of Crete is the first Greek University to have signed the EU Charter and the Code for the recruitment of researchers, and forms part of the EURAXESS European network for the mobility of researchers. The University fully participates in quality assurance mechanisms and is committed to meeting quality standards both for its academic and administrative structures.