University of Aveiro

The University of Aveiro

The University of Aveiro (UA) is a young university, founded in 1973, with over 15000 full time students (graduate and postgraduate). The University has a strong research profile, a unique model of governance (16 Departments, 4 Polytechnic Schools and various training centres), acting as a regional network for education and training promoting strong links with the surrounding community and was a pioneer in launching degrees in new subject areas.

The BMD structure is fully implemented and learning outcomes are introduced.  Recognition of prior learning is also implemented, for those who do not have the formal entrance requirements. The University is a member of the European Consortium of Innovative Universities and was one of the first institutions to be granted the ECTS label in 2004, with this distinction having been renewed in 2009 and 2013 and the Diploma Supplement Label also awarded in 2013.

University of Aveiro

UA participates in 3 ERASMUS MUNDUS Joint Masters programmes and 2 ERASMUS MUNDUS joint doctorate programmes. UA also runs several joint doctoral programmes with other Portuguese Universities. It has also signed an agreement as one of the Portuguese institutions to participate in the programme of collaboration between Portugal and Carnegie Mellon University for the development of postgraduate programmes and research in the field of ICT (Information and Communication Technologies).

At the same time, the collaboration between the Telecommunications Institute (IT) and the Physics sector with Siemens is an example of the way in which the university has encouraged both innovation and commercialisation linked to research. It has also
provided resources for its research policy through funding and the provision of high quality researchers.

The university was a partner in the TIBL Project